

Trump administration transition team Presidential Transition Headquarters 1800 F Street, NW, Room G117 Washington, DC 20270–0117

CC:

Sen. Richard Blumenthal Sen. Bob Menendez Sen. Cory Booker Sen. Chris Murphy Sen. Bob Casey, Jr. Sen. Jack Reed Sen. Susan Collins Sen. Bernie Sanders Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand Sen. Charles Schumer Sen. Maggie Hassan Sen. Jeanne Shaheen Sen. Angus King Sen. Pat Toomey Sen. Patrick Leahy Sen. Elizabeth Warren Sen. Ed Markey Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse

December 20, 2016

Dear Governor Pence and members of President-elect Trump's transition team:

We, the undersigned, are a non-partisan group of 792 environmental organizations, businesses, elected officials, and individuals of New York and Connecticut with a vested interest in clean air, healthy water, and preserved lands. Collectively, we write to voice our strong opposition to the nomination of Attorney General Scott Pruitt for Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

We ask that President-elect Trump rescind the nomination and put forth a candidate dedicated to protecting—not exploiting—this country's natural resources.

Attorney General Pruitt has actively fought EPA Clean Water rules, Clean Air regulation, and the Clean Power Plan. He is known for rejecting climate change data and has a history of promoting the interests of the fossil fuel industry. If confirmed as administrator of the EPA, we believe he would dismantle critical environmental programs and regulations that have taken decades to develop and have resulted in better air quality, cleaner rivers, and a healthier green economy for the country's citizens.

Locally, we are concerned that the policies championed by Mr. Pruitt will have adverse, long-term impacts on the Long Island Sound region. With the support of the EPA, our region has seen the benefit of investing in thousands of green jobs; enhancing enforcement of the law against polluters who dump toxic waste into the soil and the nation's waters; increasing air quality protections through the Cross-State Air Pollution Rule; committing to climate action through the Clean Power Plan and the Paris climate agreement; financing to protect shoreline communities from storms like Sandy and Irene; and programs to protect healthy drinking water and Long Island Sound's water quality. Under Mr. Pruitt

these strides would be stripped away, replaced with lax regulations that benefit fossil fuel promoters and natural resource polluters while leaving your citizens vulnerable.

No U.S. citizen wants to go back to the days of smog-choked cities and burning rivers.

Therefore, we respectfully ask Mr. Trump and the transition team to withdraw the nomination of Scott Pruitt and put forward a qualified nominee who will uphold the law and protect clean air and clean water for all Americans.

If the president-elect insists on continuing to put Attorney General Pruitt forward, we will call on our Senators to stand up not only for Connecticut's and New York's natural resources, but for our health and our regional economy, by firmly rejecting him.

Sincerely,

The 792 undersigned organizations and individuals

Organizational Signatories

Donald S. Strait, President Connecticut Fund for the Environment and its bi-state program Save the Sound New Haven, CT

Diane Lentakis, Steering Committee Member 350 Connecticut Milford, CT

Louise Fabrykiewicz, Volunteer Director A Living Museum New London, CT

Eric Frieden, Chair Bethany Clean Energy Task Force Bethany, CT

Sara Bronin, Co-chair City of Hartford Climate Stewardship Council Hartford, CT

Sally Cogan, Secretary Clean Up Sound and Harbors (CUSH) Stonington, CT Dr. Arthur H. Kopelman, President Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island (CRESLI) West Sayville, NY

Lori Brown, Executive Director Connecticut League of Conservation Voters Hartford, CT

Jeff Cordulack, Executive Director CT Northeast Organic Farming Association Derby, CT

Kathleen Van Der Aue, President Connecticut Ornithological Association Southport, CT

John Humphries, Organizer Connecticut Roundtable on Climate and Jobs Hartford, CT

Barbara Gordon, Executive Director Connecticut Seafood Council West Hartford, CT Diane Lentakis, Executive Committee Connecticut Sierra Club Milford, CT

Erika Morris, Vice President Darien Land Trust Darien, CT

Eileen Fielding, Executive Director Farmington River Watershed Association Simsbury, CT

Kristen Peterson, Executive Director Fishers Island Conservancy Fishers Island, NY

Ona Alpert, Chair GAPOA HOA New Haven, CT

Lisette Henrey, Commission Member Greenwich Conservation Commission Greenwich, CT

Eleanor Rae, President/Founder Hutchinson River Restoration Project (HRRP) Bronx, NY

Richard Watson, Chair In Support of Democracy (ISOD) Bloomfield, CT

Ann Marie Cunningham, Producer LISoundFest: Long Island Sound Science Festival New York, NY

Denis Byrne, Chair Long Island Greenways and Healthy Trails (LIGHT) Belle Terre, NY

Dennis Riordan, President Menunkatuck Audubon Society Guilford, CT Jennifer Kleindienst, Chair Middletown Clean Energy Task Force Middletown, CT

Chris Schweitzer, Director New Haven Leon Sister City Project New Haven, CT

Gretchen Specht, President New York Circle, Inc. New York, NY

Jennifer Wilson-Pines, Conservation Chair North Shore Audubon Society Port Washington, NY

Louise Washer, President Norwalk River Watershed Association Norwalk, CT

Bill Duesing, Owner Old Solar Farm Oxford, CT

Mary Pelletier, Founding Director Park Watershed West Hartford, CT

David Pattee, Chair Redding Conservation Commission Redding, CT

Toby Welles, Acting Chair Redding Planning Commission Redding, CT

Ann Snow, Conservation Chair Ridgefield Garden Club Ridgefield, CT

Lillian Ball, Founding Director WATERWASH Projects Southold, NY

Stephanie FitzGerald, Outreach Coordinator West River Watershed Coalition New Haven, CT